Palazzo Sacrati Strozzi is one of the most significant examples of Florentine Baroque architecture. The interior, decorated in frescoes and ornate decor, which was the aristocratic Florentine taste between the 17th and 19th century. Closed in 1980 following the death of the last heir Marquis Uberto Strozzi Sacrati, the building was then acquired by the Region of Tuscany in 1989.
The entrance leads to Sala Pegaso, where a new coloured skylight designed by the company Polloni (a similar style to the school of Galileo Chini) features the Tuscan coat of arms with Pegasus at its centre. Adjacent to the hall, another grand room is lined with frescoes from 1812 depicting woodland and nature scenes. But every room vaunts a triumph of decorations, with an impressive 11,315 square metres of surfaces painted. Among these gems, the Salone delle Feste on the ground floor is adorned with stuccowork and other decorations that will be ready in the summer, when the hall will host music events, including chamber orchestra performances.